8 Grease Interceptor Manufacturers, What Each Makes
The short of it
- Three things separate these eight manufacturers: device class, body material, and the standard the exact model is listed to.
- Compare bids on rated flow, grease capacity in pounds with its efficiency, and the standard naming that exact model.
- PDI certifies each interceptor tested, not a product family: Jay R. Smith's brochure scopes its 8000 Series listing to Figures 8007 through 8050.
- A listing is not an approval, since the authority having jurisdiction still approves the model for your site.
- Paperwork stops there: measuring the space and drain line needs a plumber, and in-ground work needs an equipped hauler.
Only 3 things separate the 8 grease interceptor manufacturers on this page: device class, body material, and the standard the exact model is listed to. The set is MIFAB, Zurn, Canplas Endura, Thermaco, Jay R. Smith, Josam, Highland Tank and Schier, all common on US commercial kitchen bid sheets. Nothing below is ranked, scored or priced; each entry repeats what a maker prints in its own submittals and catalog pages, so a blank in a row means the documentation stayed silent on that point. A call to (800) 555-0184 reaches an independent partner service company in the caller's area that can send a plumber to measure before an order goes in.
Who makes what, eight grease interceptor manufacturers at a glance
| Maker | Device classes it catalogs | Body material stated | Standards it names |
|---|---|---|---|
| MIFAB | Hydromechanical (MI-G-SS, MI-G, MCL-G); automatic (MI-G-AD) | Type 304 stainless, 10 gauge coated steel, HDPE (LIL-MAX) | PDI-G101 and ASME A112.14.3 on listed models |
| Zurn | Hydromechanical (GT2700, GT2702, GRZE); separate Proceptor line | Not stated in the pages reviewed | GT2700 called PDI certified by Zurn |
| Canplas (Endura) | Grease and solids interceptors, floor sinks, drainage | Not stated on the product index | None named on the index page |
| Thermaco | Automatic grease removal (Big Dipper W series); passive traps (LD series) | Not stated in the listings reviewed | None named in those listings |
| Jay R. Smith | 8000 Series hydromechanical; stainless SS figures | Fabricated steel with Steel Gray Duco coating; stainless | PDI-G101 for 7 through 50 GPM (8007 to 8050); stainless 8007-SS to 8050-SS and 8120-SS carry the PDI seal |
| Josam | 60100H series; automatic type range (60306A, 60307A) | Epoxy coated fabricated steel on 60100H | 60100H conforms to PDI-G101; flow control fitting carries the PDI Seal |
| Highland Tank | Manual (MGI), passive gravity (PGI, R-PGI), GreaseStopper Automatic | Mild carbon steel with polyurethane coating; stainless available | Not stated in the literature reviewed |
| Schier | Great Basin hydromechanical line | Polyethylene | IAPMO listed to ASME A112.14.3 and CSA B481.1 |
Schier's Great Basin model list and its rated capacities sit on the Schier interceptors page. The differences across grease interceptor manufacturers sit in those three columns; the device classes themselves are on the hydromechanical unit page and the terminology split on the interceptor versus trap page.

MIFAB grease interceptor bodies come in stainless, coated steel and HDPE
MIFAB's MI-G-SS is a fabricated Type 304, 14 gauge stainless hydromechanical interceptor certified to PDI-G101 and ASME A112.14.3. The MI-G Series is the coated equivalent in acid-resistant powder epoxy over fabricated 10 gauge steel, the MCL-G economy line carries the same pair of certifications without naming its base metal, and LIL-MAX is the HDPE member. MI-G-AD is an automatic recovery unit in Type 304 stainless with a 24 hour timer, heating element and automatic skimming wheel, and MIFAB claims those same listings for it.
Endura grease interceptor sizes are indexed by flow, not by pounds
Canplas indexes its Endura grease interceptors by flow rating: 7-10 GPM, 15-20 GPM, 35 GPM and 50 GPM, plus an Endura Lo-Profile at 25 GPM and an XL series covering 75-150 GPM as the XL75, XL100 and XL150. The index publishes no grease capacity in pounds, and Canplas, a Canadian maker, publishes its own sizing calculators, so confirm any calculator output against the sizing rule your US inspector enforces before it goes on a permit set, as the sizing page shows.
The Big Dipper grease interceptor name covers two device classes

Thermaco's Big Dipper line is automatic grease removal equipment, units that skim and remove grease on their own, distinct from the passive Little Dipper traps. The automatic ones are listed by inlet flow: W-200-IS 20 GPM, W-250-IS 25, W-350-IS-T 35, W-500-IS 50 and W-750-IS-X 75 GPM, with the 100 GPM W-1000-AST marked discontinued. The passive side carries LD numbers, LD-200 at 20 GPM, LD-250 at 25 and LD-750 at 75 GPM, which Thermaco's own page titles call Big Dipper Passive Grease Trap.
Talk to someone who opens these lids every week
Call (800) 555-0184Free to dial. Whoever answers pumps and services grease interceptors; ask for the registration number your city requires while you are on the call.Partner haulers and plumbers who work on food service drains- Partners who pump interceptors, not just unclog sinks
- Answered during the dinner rush
- Dialing costs nothing and books nothing
Zurn and Josam put certification on the model, not the catalog
Zurn groups its units under a Hydromechanical Interceptor category: GT2700, GT2702 and GRZE. The GT2700 configuration documented there is a 4 inch no-hub unit supplied with flow control, rated 75 GPM and described by Zurn as PDI certified, though other configurations in that family carry other ratings.
Josam's 60100H Series is epoxy coated fabricated steel and conforms to Plumbing and Drainage Institute Standard PDI-G101, with a flow control fitting carrying the PDI Seal of Approval, per Josam's submittal sheet.
Jay R. Smith and Highland Tank, where a listing stops
Jay R. Smith states on its certifications page that its grease interceptor products conform to ASME A112.14.3 and comply with PDI G-101. The 8000 Series brochure is narrower: certification covers the 7 through 50 GPM sizes, Figure models 8007 through 8050, so a blanket claim that the whole 8000 Series is PDI certified is not what the brochure says. Smith's stainless page is broader: Figures 8007-SS through 8050-SS and 8120-SS carry the PDI seal.
Highland Tank documents all three device classes. Manual Grease Interceptors (MGI) are hydromechanical, built in mild carbon steel under heavy-duty polyurethane. Passive units (PGI) hold wastewater long enough for liquefied grease to congeal at the surface while solids settle at the sludge baffle, the gravity interceptor principle. GreaseStopper Automatic units run from 15 to 800 GPM with an electrically powered skimmer on a timed or event basis.
What PDI G101 and the ASME standard actually certify

PDI-G101 is the Plumbing and Drainage Institute standard titled "Testing and Rating Procedure for Grease Interceptors," revised 2017. Units are tested and then rated, not simply passed or failed, and PDI issues a certificate for each interceptor tested in an independent laboratory. Use of the standard is voluntary, so its force comes from the code that adopts it.
ASME lists the other document as A112.14.3/CSA B481.1, "Hydromechanical Grease Interceptors (w/ 12/22 Errata)," in the 2022 edition with a December 2022 errata. Codes adopt specific editions, so the one enforced where you cook may be older.
Two quotes, three specifications, one phone call
Two bids, one naming a MIFAB stainless unit, the other an Endura at 50 GPM, can be far apart. Two grease interceptor manufacturers can print the same GPM figure and mean different things by it, so compare specifications, not names.
- Rated flow, with its basis. Flow is not tank volume. Schier's submittal for the GB-1000-B puts rated flow at 200 GPM and ties that rating to a 2-minute drain time. On a line, that basis decides whether a unit keeps up when the pot sink, the wok range and the dish machine all dump inside the same few minutes instead of one after another.
- Grease capacity in pounds, with its efficiency basis. Schier lists 3,681 lbs of grease capacity for that model at 99.0% efficiency, and a separate tank capacity note gives 3,939 lbs. Pounds set the cleaning calendar: a fryer-heavy menu reaches a rated capacity far sooner than a salad and sandwich menu, and the pounds figure only holds at the efficiency printed next to it.
- The standard, and the exact model listed to it. MIFAB names PDI-G101 and the ASME hydromechanical standard for the MI-G-SS, and Schier's sheet lists certification to ASME A112.14.3 (Type D) and CSA B481.1. Confirm the model on the bid is the listed model, not the family around it.
Those three checks finish on site rather than on paper. Someone has to measure the space, read the drain line and vent, and hear from the inspector that the model is accepted. Kitchen staff can compare the submittals and service an indoor point-of-use unit; opening, measuring and entering a buried interceptor is work for an equipped hauler. The number in the header routes a caller to an independent partner firm working that area.
Names this survey did not document
Buyers ask about other grease interceptor manufacturers too: Rockford, Watts, Jensen Precast, Oldcastle, Park USA, Striem, Green Turtle and Trapzilla. None of that documentation was in the source set behind this page, so nothing here describes their device classes, materials or listings. Ask the supplier for the current submittal and run the same three checks.
Talk to someone who opens these lids every week
Call (800) 555-0184Free to dial. Whoever answers pumps and services grease interceptors; ask for the registration number your city requires while you are on the call.Partner haulers and plumbers who work on food service drains- Partners who pump interceptors, not just unclog sinks
- Answered during the dinner rush
- Dialing costs nothing and books nothing